EYFS Parliamentary electronic petition update. Open Eye Early Years Conference.

 During the election and the formation of the coalition government I’d been keeping a very close eye on the EYFS parliamentary e-petition. The petition had been closed down for around six weeks. During this time the site displayed a message saying that all petition deadlines would be extended to compensate for the closure.

I hadn’t done a lot of work on the EYFS e-petition as this blog continues to get a fair amount of traffic and there was a drip, drip effect anyway –  but I did have a list of prominent educationalists (and parents) who were waiting for the EYFS e-petition to open again in order to sign.

(By the way if you’ve ever wondered why I keep repeating words and phrases like this, it’s due to a magic mechanism called SEO – of course  content is ultimately king – but SEO does help traffic-building. Readers know I like to interrupt serious issues with a picture – so here’s another one of the new boys on the block clutching their shiny parliamentary folders…)

[picapp align=”none” wrap=”false” link=”term=michael+gove&iid=8777025″ src=”http://view1.picapp.com/pictures.photo/image/8777025/members-the-new-coalition/members-the-new-coalition.jpg?size=500&imageId=8777025″ width=”500″ height=”343″ /]

With the Open Eye conference coming up this Saturday, of course I would have been able to ask a lot more people to support the EYFS e-petition. But our government has now apparently changed it’s mind again – and closed the EYFS e-petition down anyway. (It’s a good job schools don’t do that with things like sports days, isn’t it? There’d be hell to play with the parents, I’m sure).

Anyway, creating an e-petition is fairly simple but it can take up to a week to be processed by No. 10 – so there is no chance of doing another one in time for the conference.

I was disappointed about this at first but then I heard about a BIG, NEW and EXCITING project to be launched by Open Eye at the conference. it’s a bit hush-hush at the moment so stay tuned. I’ve packed my press card and plan to blog (a bit) from London.

 Not reams of copy though – as I’ll need time to digest what I’ll be learning myself too – and I’m not fond of Twitter, I’m afraid, so don’t ask me to text, PLEASE. I’m in it for the long haul after all – my own child is only four and she’ll have to grapple with the politics of education for some time to come. I’m sure the background information I’ll be getting will keep me (and hopefully the readers of this blog) going for quite some time.

 I asked No. 10 for an official statement about the EYFS E-PETITION. Their webmaster said: 

“As mentioned on the website, with a new Government in place a review is taking place of online services, including e-petitions. We are committed to improving the e-petitions process and are looking at ways of ensuring that it functions as part of a cohesive approach to public debate and transparent government. A full announcement on how we plan to use these and other services across Government will be made as soon as this important work is completed.”

 “Existing e-petitions, submitted to the previous administration, will not be carried forward to the new administration as part of this process. We will welcome resubmission on issues of concern to the improved e-petitions system when it is launched later in 2010. As mentioned on the website, with a new Government in place a review is taking place of online services, including e-petitions. We are committed to improving the e-petitions process and are looking at ways of ensuring that it functions as part of a cohesive approach to public debate and transparent government. A full announcement on how we plan to use these and other services across government will be made as soon as this important work is completed”.

So it looks like the grassroots is going to have to try again, doesn’t it? I’ve asked No. 10’s webmaster to let me know when they’re ready for action. Are they up to date with their press cuttings and reading this?

Incidentally, when an e-petition is created, the government is obliged to publish a response to it. Readers may be interested to see what the responses to previous EYFS e-petitions have been. There have been quite a number of them over the past few years. Here are some archive links to some of them, together with responses from our elected representatives:

Link to Anti-EYFS childminder’s  (1,400 signatures)

Anti-EYFS petition government response

Open Eye e-petition 7,800 signatures

Government response to Open Eye e-petition

For more EYFS petitions, see this link to the government’s archive: http://search.number-10.gov.uk/kbroker/number10/number10/search.lsim?ha=369&sr=0&sf=&qt=EYFS&nh=10&cs=iso-8859-1&sc=number10&sm=0&mt=1&to=0

I wonder what they’ll have to say about my petition which has appeared on this site? Since it has now been closed we should all get a government response to it before too long. I’ll link to the response here. Before I make my sandwiches for the trip to London here’s a pleasing shot of our “A” team (our elected representatives) in the garden:

[picapp align=”none” wrap=”false” link=”term=michael+gove&iid=8778551″ src=”http://view.picapp.com/pictures.photo/image/8778551/britain-new-cabinet-pose/britain-new-cabinet-pose.jpg?size=500&imageId=8778551″ width=”500″ height=”329″ /]

Leave a Reply

